Suite of Old American Dances (Abridged Selections) - Concert Band

Catalog: 04002387

Regular Price: $75.00

On Sale for $60.00

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.


Grade 3. First published in 1950, Robert Russell Bennett's Suite of Old American Dances has established itself as a classic in the repertoire for wind bands. This edition is designed for younger players and features three of the original five movements: Western One-Step, Wallflower Rag and Cake Walk. Carefully adapted by James Curnow, these settings offer an important historical perspective for students, as well as enjoyable music for contest or casual concerts. (6:30)

Excerpts below are used by permission of GIA Publications, Inc and are from "Teaching Music through Performance in Band - Volume 1"

Bennett chose as his source material the music of the dance halls of Kansas City. Each movement depicts a popular turn-of-the-century dance style. The technical demands...lie primarily in the ability of performers to clearly articulate important rhtyhmic motives and to contrast that with lyrical playing. Also of importance is security of pitch within areas of chromatic harmony. While each movement is centered in a band-friendly key, Bennett uses extensive chromatic harmony throughout the work, and often modulates to distant key areas.

Instrumentation:  C Piccolo, Flute, Oboe, Bassoon, Bb Clarinet 1-3, Eb Alto Clarinet, Bb Bass Clarinet, Eb Alto Saxophone 1-2, Bb Tenor Saxophone, Eb Baritone Saxophone, Bb Trumpet 1-3, F Horn 1-2, Trombone 1-2, Euphonium TC, Euphonium BC, Tuba, String Bass, Timpani, Percussion, Mallet Percussion.

Sample Pages Audio Sample
Publisher: Hal Leonard
Composer/Author: Bennett, Robert R.
Arranger/Editor: Curnow, James
Catalog Number: 04002387