13 Original Compositions - Alto Sax and Piano

Catalog: 9781599132341

Price: $22.50

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Here is a collection of 13 original compositions for e-flat alto saxophone and piano, presented in approximate order of difficulty. All first appeared as solo pieces for different instruments in my concert band methods, Making Music Matter Book I (Beginner) and Book II (Intermediate). While I was composing the pieces, I realized that most would also work beautifully for different instruments. And that is the genesis of the present volume.

The notes, rhythms, and terminology used in these pieces appear at various points in the two Making Music Matter books, and thus this collection is an ideal complement to both methods. However, there is every reason that beginners and intermediate players of all ages will find them ideal for both practice and performance. Furthermore, the piano parts are not so difficult - playable by a gifted young pianist, a talented parent, or an undergraduate piano major.

Few things are more exciting and gratifyign to a musician than playing solos, whether for friends, classmates, or in concert. I hope my collection will be a source of great happiness, pride, and accomplishment for all musicians.

Table of Contents:
  • The King's Homecoming
  • Hip Hippo
  • Ancient Voices
  • Going to Lafayette
  • Hudson River Waltz
  • Fire Dance
  • Marching Home
  • Blue Hugh
  • Mystery Tale
  • The Serene Serpent
  • Turkish Dance
  • Lucky Day
  • Sitting on a Rainbow
Publisher: Manhattan Beach
Composer/Author: Ticheli, Frank
Catalog Number: 9781599132341