Three Sketches for Wind Ensemble - Concert Band

Catalog: W-312

Price: $93.00


Written on behalf of the Hong Kong Band Directors Association, Three Sketches for Wind Ensemble is a piece in which the composer, through modal strokes and a brief but meticulously combined timbral palette, has sought to build a musical discourse of expository conciseness and formal simplicity.

The first movement, Spiritoso,begins with a game of echoes starring two boxes to which the timpani is attached. After this introduction we find a first thematic section in charge of the brass and a second in which a secondary theme, derived from the first, is presented by the tenor sax and then imitated by the alto sax. A new appearance of the first theme leads to a brilliant tutti and after it, a brief coda in which, subtly, the movement is concluded with the rhythm that the boxes had initially presented.

The Lento e rubato,is a movement of expressive character and ternary form. In it, the importance of the soloists is especially relevant, especially the bassoon that presents the continuo on which the oboe builds the initial theme, and the soprano sax, protagonist of the central section. After a re-exposition of the first theme, the movement ends with a coda in which the oboe and bassoon lead a Doric melody to a perfect major chord, with which the saxophones close the movement.

The third movement, Con fuoco,is a dance also written in ternary form. After a forceful introduction, characterized by the dissonant energy induced by the semitone intervals, a first theme appears in charge of the piccolo with the only accompaniment of the percussion. The modal treatment of the subject, with the usual presence of augmented seconds, as well as the texture used, endow the section with clear Arab reminiscences. The central section is clearly contrasting with the previous one: on a slightly slower tempo, the plates create an ethereal ostinato on which a new theme appears, first by the bassoon and imitated by the oboe and, later, interpreted by the trombone and imitated by the piccolo. This theme is characterized by small swings of the tempo that enhance its humorous character. After an acceleration we find the re-exposition of the first section and a brilliant coda with which, definitely, the work concludes.

Concert Band, Grade level 4.5 - score and parts included
Duration - 8:00

Alarcon Music ยท Three Sketches For Wind Ensemble (2014)

Publisher: Murphy Music
Composer/Author: Alarcon, Luis Serrano
Catalog Number: W-312