Dos Danzas - Concert Band

Catalog: W-8117

Price: $225.00

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


"Dos Danzas for Concert Band (2010) was commissioned by, and is dedicated to, Miller Asbill and The Texas Tech University Concert Band who premiered the work on April 5, 2010 at Hemmle Recital Hall, Lubbock, Texas. As if emerging from a fog, the first movement, Tangential Tango, is a sultry bitonal dance utilizing long melodic lines against a pulsing tango rhythm. The two keys are attracted to one another, yet gently push apart like magnets of the same polarity. The second movement, Gallo Fino, translates from Spanish as “fine rooster;” in the colloquial, however, it also refers to an overly confident, finely dressed man. The uneven time signature supports the imagery of a strutting rooster preened to impress. Many thanks to Miller Asbill, the music students at Texas Tech University, and Brian Amer for their artistic support."

-Andrea Reinkemeyer, composer

Concert Band, Grade level 5 - score and parts included
Duration - 10:00

Murphy Music Press · Dos Danzas - Andrea Reinkemeyer

Publisher: Murphy Music
Composer/Author: Reinkemeyer, Andrea
Catalog Number: W-8117