Sonata No. 2 in E-flat Major, Op. 102 - Violin and Piano

Catalog: BA10958

Price: $26.06

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


The second half of the 19th century represented something of a “Golden Age” of the violin sonata in France: influential violin sonatas such as those by Franck, Fauré and Saint-Saëns were among the successful works of this genre, inspiring many further compositions.

Saint-Saëns’ Violin Sonata no. 2 was written in 1896 during a stay of several months by the composer in Egypt: he began the main themes of all four movements as well as the canonic trio in Luxor and Aswan. The sonata was then completed on the Nile journey back to Cairo. That same year the sonata was premiered by Saint-Saëns and Pablo Sarasate in a concert celebrating the composer’s fiftieth stage anniversary. Astoundingly, he had first appeared on stage when he was only ten years old.

This performing edition edited by Fabien Guilloux and François de Médicis is based on “Saint-Saëns – Œuvres instrumentales complètes”, volume III/4. It reflects the most up-to-date state of research on this work which the edition presents in a spacious engraving.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Poco allegro piu tosto moderato
  • 2. Scherzo - Vivace
  • 3. Andante; Allegretto scherzando ma ben moderato
  • 4. Allegro grazioso, non presto
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Saint-Saens, Camille
Arranger/Editor: Guilloux & de Medicis
Catalog Number: BA10958