Music by Black Composers, Volume 1 - Violin and Piano

Catalog: 55371001

Price: $29.95

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Music By Black Composers contains beginner- and elementary-level music. The works are by both men and women who come from North America, South America, the Caribbean, Europe, and Africa. The repertoire spans four centures - from the 1700s to the present.

In addition to the music, the book also contains illustrated composer biographies, features on Black classical music making throughout history, and profiles of Black role models in classical music, past and present.

MBC Violin, Volume 1 is designed to supplement the current instrumental training methods by providing students of all races and ethnicities a broader perspective about who has written classical music throughout history, and who is writing it today.

For violin with 2nd violin or piano accompaniment.

Table of Contents:
  • Feeling the Pulse - Juwon Ogungbe
  • Les Contes des Fees (Fairytales) - Ignatius Sancho
  • Le Vieux Garcon (The Old Boy) - Ignatius Sancho
  • Minuet No. 15 - Ignatius Sancho
  • Iya Ni Wura Iyebiye (Mother is a Priceless Jewel) - Godwin Sadoh
  • La Puertottiquena: Reverie (The Puerto Rican Woman) - Sister Marie Seraphine Gotay
  • Just So in the North - Ignatius Sancho
  • Mele Sue (I am Young) - Kenneth Kafui
  • Dutchess of Devonshire's Reel - Ignatius Sancho
  • The Boy with the Axles in His Hands - Thomas Greene "Blind Tom" Wiggins
  • Marianne's Reel - Ignatius Sancho
  • The Birthday Party Waltz - Horace Weston
  • Mele Ekpom (I Do See It) - Kenneth Kafui
  • La Despedida (The Farewell) - Felipe Gutierrez y Espinosa
  • Had I Never Never Known Thee - Thomas J. Martin
  • Theme from Sonata No. 4 for Two Violins - Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges
  • Balada - Francisca "Chiquinha" Gonzaga
  • Tuxedo - Clarence Cameron White
  • Cancion de Cuna Del Nino Negro (Lullaby for a Little Black Child) - Amadeo Roldan y Gardes
  • Grande Polka des Chasseurs a Pied de la Louisiane - Basile Jean Bares
  • The Entertainer, A Ragtime Two-Step - Scott Joplin
  • Chocolate Drops, A Cake Walk - Will Marion Cook
Publisher: Ludwig-Masters
Composer/Author: Various
Arranger/Editor: Pine, Rachel Barton
Catalog Number: 55371001