Groth Music home

4 Playford Dances - Recorder Quartet SATB

Catalog: PRM0434

Price: $13.95

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.


John Playford was a London bookseller, publisher, and minor composer, who published books on music theory, instruction books for several instruments, and psalters with tunes for singing in churches. He is perhaps best known today for his publication on "The English Dancing Master" in 1651, from which these tunes come.

The fourth of these arrangements, "Scotch Cap", won the arranger's competition at the Irish Recorder and Viol Course in 1987; this is a 2011 revision. Includes score and parts.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Dick's Maggot
  • 2. Staines Morris
  • 3. Confesse
  • 4. Scotch Cap

  • Publisher: Peacock Press
    Composer/Author: Traditional
    Arranger/Editor: Hall, Marg
    Catalog Number: PRM0434