Rite of Spring, The - Violin and Piano

Catalog: B3447

Regular Price: $12.99

On Sale for $9.09

2 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


On May 29, 1913, an over-capacity audience in Paris' Theatre des Champs-Elysees witnessed an historical spectacle as they became a brute catalyst in the most (in)famous opening night of the twentieth century. The Rite of Spring premiered that evening in the midst of a riot, inspired by the overwhelming primitivism both onstage and in the score. One hundred-plus years later, the music still incites the senses. The ballet was first published in 1914 in a reduction for two pianos, and serves as a basis for this arrangement. This edition is presented in honor of the centennial of the ballet’s premiere, and is intended to give soloists and accompanists a chance to perform two movements from this monumental work. The movements can be performed separately, and the first movement can be played as a solo without piano accompaniment. For advanced players.

Table of Contents:
  • I. Introduction - A Kiss of the Earth
  • II. Dance of the Young Maidens
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Composer/Author: Stravinsky, Igor
Arranger/Editor: Dutkanicz, David
Catalog Number: B3447