Groth Music home

To the Horizon - Young Band

Catalog: CB14263

Regular Price: $55.00

On Sale for $44.00

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.


This work tells the story of the famous sailor and explorer---Christopher Columbus. His voyage to discover a trade route with China while traveling West led to the discovering of The New World---the Americas. It is set in four contrasting sections---At the Dock, Setting Sail, A Lonely Life at Sea and To New Discoveries---each with it's own character and color. The stately fanfare opening moves into a spirited section with a great melody and syncopated support rhythms. A Lonely Life at Sea is reflective with melody in the alto saxes and later flutes, clarinets and trumpets. The piece concludes with a recap of the upbeat spirited melody before arriving at an energetic conclusion. (3:15)

Publisher: Eighth Note
Composer/Author: Marlatt, David
Catalog Number: CB14263