2 Sonatas (Nos. 1 and 4) - Cello and Basso continuo

Catalog: 49017005

Price: $22.99

Expected to Ship in 1-3 Weeks

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher or manufacturer. Backorders average 1-3 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small companies, and temporarily unavailable items.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


2 Sonatas

For Violoncello and Basso continuo

The six sonatas by Benedetto Marcello (1686-1739) are among the best-known baroque compositions for violoncello and basso continuo.

Marcello was a famous composer during his lifetime, and consequently his collection could be found in printed editions in the major European music metropolises of London, Paris and Amsterdam. Even if there is some uncomfortable fingering in these sonatas (which might be due to Marcello's working with a five-string cello with an added E' string) they are of only moderate difficulty and belong to the standard works of the violoncello teaching.

The pieces are presented here with the original continuo part as well as a realized piano version. Edited by Gerhart Darmstadt with basso continuo by Egino Klepper.

Table of Contents:
  • Sonata No. 1 in F major
  • Sonata No. 4 in G minor
Publisher: Schott
Composer/Author: Marcello, Benedetto
Arranger/Editor: Darmstadt / Klepper
Catalog Number: 49017005
Pages: 42

Related Products: