Reflections on the Mississippi - Score Only

Catalog: 04004652

Price: $58.50

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Score Only - Parts available on rental from Bill Holab Music.

Reflections on the Mississippi (2015) for tuba and symphonic band was commissioned and premiered by the University of Michigan Symphony Band, conducted by Michael Haithcock, with Carol Jantsch, tuba (Philadelphia Orchestra), at the University of Michigan Hill Auditorium in Ann Arbor on February 6, 2015. The concerto, composed in memory of his father, Willis Daugherty (1929-2011), is a musical reflection on family trips during Michael's childhood to the Mississippi River near McGregor, Iowa. In July and October 2012, Daugherty returned to the Mississippi River to make two road trips along the Great River Road from McGregor to Hannibal, Missouri to collect musical ideas. The result is one of the composer's most poignant and powerful musical works to date. In this 22-minute tuba concerto, Daugherty has created a unique sound world that brilliantly captures and reflects the sound and the fury of the Mississippi River. The tuba soloist plays soulful melodies, jarring rhythms, prayerful chants and a New Orleans second line that propels the concerto to a virtuosic conclusion.


The number of players doubling each part is at the conductor's discretion, but should be in keeping with a balanced sound. One player per part recommended unless otherwise indicated.

  • Solo Tuba Piccolo
  • 2 Flutes
  • 2 Oboes English Horn
  • 4 Bb Clarinets Bb Bass Clarinet
  • 2 Bassoons
  • Contrabassoon
  • Bb Soprano Saxophone
  • Eb Alto Saxophone
  • Bb Tenor Saxophone
  • Eb Baritone Saxophone
  • 3 C or Bb Trumpets (straight metal mute; harmon mute, stem out)
  • 4 F Horns
  • 3 Trombones (1st/2nd Tenor, 3rd Bass; straight metal mute)
  • 2 Euphoniums (straight metal mute)
  • Contrabass (1 or 2 players, 2 preferred)
  • Piano
  • Timpani (4 or 5 drums; 32, 29, 26, 23, 20)

Percussion (3 players; instruments are not shared):

  • 1. Glockenspiel, Crotales (D, F, A, C), Xylophone, Small Tambourine, Vibraslap, Mark Tree
  • 2. Vibraphone, Suspended Cymbal, Washboard, Woodblock, Bell Tree, Whip
  • 3.Marimba (4 octaves), Snare Drum, Kick Drum, Castanets, Triangle, Chimes, Concert Bass Drum, Vibraslap

Publisher: Daugherty Music
Composer/Author: Daugherty, Michael
Catalog Number: 04004652
Pages: 160