Groth Music home

Lyrical Solos from the British Isles - clarinet and piano

Catalog: MB30836

Price: $16.19

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Lyrical Solos from the British Isles is a collection of folk and traditional songs and dances with one hymn and a few original pieces added, all with the aspiring young clarinetist in mind. The author’s 2018 “English Sonatina” is prominently featured.

The modal and folk song-like character of the sonatina is reflected in the clarinet and piano arrangements of the other eleven songs in the collection, including such stalwarts as: "The Maiden’s Lament", "Emerald Jig", "Wild Mountain Thyme", and "Scarborough Fair" plus two more Marshall originals — "Ballad" and "The Highlands".

The folk influence in this music is further enhanced by the innate lyrical quality of the clarinet in combination with stylistically complimentary piano accompaniment. All in all, these arrangements of well-known tunes together with the author's original compositions and performance notes present an engaging recital repertoire for the young clarinetist. Includes a separate 24-page pull-out part for the clarinet solo.

Table of Contents:
  • Ballad
  • Be Thou My Vision
  • Emerald Jig
  • English Sonatina
  • Flow Gently, Sweet Afton
  • How Many Miles to London Town?
  • Scarborough Fair
  • The Girl I Left Behind Me
  • The Highlands
  • The Maiden's Lament
  • Time Stands Still
  • Wild Mountain Thyme
Publisher: Mel Bay
Composer/Author: Marshall, James
Catalog Number: MB30836