String Play Classics - Flexible Ensemble

Catalog: UE21776

Price: $22.46

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


David Brooker moves on in his popular “Stringplay” series with an ingenious new book that promises full flexibility from a mixed duo right up to a full string orchestra. Full instructions are given to help you choose an instrument for the melody, then add any other part of parts to the line-up in a way that caters for and exploits the strengths of your ensemble, however unbalanced it may seem at first.

All standards of player are catered for, from open-string beginners up to Grade 3 students. A piano line is provided in the score; it’s optional but might be useful to provide support for less experienced players. Modern publishing means all the parts are provided as a free download from Universal Edition’s website so you only have to buy the score, not a whole ream of parts you may never use! The arrangements include pieces by Bach, Handel, Arbeau and Beethoven, the latter being his evergreen “Ode to Joy”.

Table of Contents:
  • Handel: March from ‘Judas Maccabaeus’
  • Arbeau: Les Bouffons
  • Handel: Minuets I & II from Music for the Royal Fireworks
  • Beethoven: Ode to Joy from ‘Symphony No. 9’
  • Bach: March from the ‘Peasant Cantata’
Publisher: Universal
Composer/Author: Various
Arranger/Editor: Brooker, David
Catalog Number: UE21776