A Tunes: Capricious Pieces for Beginner Violinists - Violin Unaccompanied

Catalog: MB30956

Price: $11.69

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Incorporating skills taught in many popular violin methods, these tuneful solo pieces offer a fresh alternative for teachers who would like a stimulating supplement to their usual method. These entertaining and whimsical compositions reinforce and develop violin skills through repetition disguised as lyrical musical phrases. They strengthen the left hand, exercise the fourth finger, and use rests in musically compelling ways that keep the student attentive. They also present mixed meter and double-stops, and offer a practical introduction to musical form and phrase structure. Slurs and dynamics are incorporated immediately, along with right-hand pizzicato on stopped strings and left-hand pizzicato on all open strings. These pieces are written specifically to encourage interpretive creativity, even at the most elementary levels. As twenty-first-century pieces for solo violin, they are meant to be performed as well as studied.

Table of Contents:
  • Appogiare with Variations
  • Vocalise
  • Castor and Pollux Dance
  • Te Unim
  • Lullaby for Castor and Pollux
  • Non-Stop Gavotte
  • Rest Stop Gavotte
  • The Fourth Heroic Music
  • Goodnight Air
  • Gotcha!
  • Farmer’s Crossing
  • Slurry Leading-Tone Gallop
  • Leading-Tone Gallop
  • String-Crossing Waltz
  • Slurry Two-Step
  • Solo Two-Step
  • The Big Dipper
  • Breeze in the Trees
  • Wait! What?
  • Starry Night
Publisher: Mel Bay
Composer/Author: Fine, Elaine
Catalog Number: MB30956