Dance Suite from Easy Dances - Alto Sax and Piano

Catalog: ED12424

Price: $11.66

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


The Dance Suite for alto saxophone and piano is an arrangement of selected pieces from Mátyás Seiber's “Easy Dances”, originally composed as piano pieces on the popular dance-styles of the 1920s and 30s and focusing particularly on the rhythmic characteristics of each. Seiber's life and work linked and developed many diverse musical influences, from the Hungarian tradition of Bartók and Kodály, to Schoenberg and Serial Music, to jazz, folksong, film and lighter music (rewarded by an Ivor Novello Prize for 'By The Fountains of Rome'). A late collaboration with John Dankworth produced the 'Improvisations for Jazz Band and Orchestra'.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Tango 1
  • 2. Tango 2 (Habanera)
  • 3. Waltz
  • 4. Blues
  • 5. Charleston
  • 6. Foxtrot
  • 7. Cake-Walk
Publisher: Schott
Composer/Author: Seiber, Matyas
Arranger/Editor: de Haan, Stefan
Catalog Number: ED12424