Sonata in F Major, Op. 6 - Cello and Piano

Catalog: HN1469

Price: $28.76

Expected to Ship in 1-3 Weeks

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher or manufacturer. Backorders average 1-3 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small companies, and temporarily unavailable items.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Aside from the Piano Quartet op. 13 and the Violin Sonata op. 18, the Cello Sonata numbers among the most mature works of chamber music from Strauss' early oeuvre. The influences of Mendelssohn, Schumann, and Brahms are noticeable, while leaving sufficient space for a very personal tonal language, often with surprising rhythmic and harmonic turns of phrase. Strauss subjected the first version completed in early 1881 to a radical revision over the winter of 1882/83; the opening movement was thoroughly reworked, the two subsequent movements rewritten completely. It was worth it, because after the premiere in Dresden, the composer wrote to his mother, “My sonata garnered extraordinary acclaim, the applause was enormous, congratulations came to me from all sides."

Table of Contents:
  • Allegro con brio
  • Andante ma non troppo
  • Finale. Allegro vivo
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Strauss, Richard
Arranger/Editor: Jost, Peter
Catalog Number: HN1469
Pages: 64