Sacred Songs of Early America - Guitar

Catalog: WBM57M

Price: $17.99

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


A collection of thirty guitar solos for the plectrum or flatpick guitarist drawn from the early American shape-note tradition. These songs reflect the rugged faith of America’s early settlers and range from joyous, rhythmic pieces to somber, contemplative melodies. The arrangements are of medium difficulty and present a broad palate of harmonic colors. Written in standard notation and tablature. Includes access to online audio, recorded by the author.

Table of Contents:
  • Amazing Grace
  • And Am I Born to Die? (Idumea)
  • Broad is the Road that Leads to Death (Windham)
  • Come All Ye Roaming Pilgrims (Pilgrim)
  • Come Humble Sinner (Hanover)
  • Come Ye Sinners, Poor and Wretched (Beach Spring)
  • Come Thou Fount (Nettleton)
  • Come Holy Spirit (Abbeville)
  • Glorious Things of Thee are Spoken (Jefferson)
  • Death, Like an Overflowing Stream (Amanda)
  • Great God, When I Approach Thy Throne (Detroit)
  • I Will Arise and Go to Jesus (Arise)
  • Jesus Calls Us O’er the Tumult (Galilee)
  • Jesus, Thou Art the Sinner’s Friend (Pisgah)
  • King of Peace
  • Land of Rest
  • Lord, Revive Us (Return Again)
  • My Shepherd Will Supply My Need (Resignation)
  • O God, We Praise Thee (Morning Song)
  • On Jordon’s Stormy Banks (Promised Land)
  • O, Were I Like a Feathered Dove (Blooming Vale)
  • Out of the Depths I Cry to You (Martyrdom)
  • Shall We Gather/Alternate Melody (Palmetto)
  • Sweet Prospect (On Jordon’s Stormy Banks/Alternate Melody)
  • The Lone Pilgrim
  • The Shining Shore
  • There is a Fountain (Cleansing Fountain)
  • This Day is Past and Gone (Evening Shade)
  • Thou Man of Grief, Remember Me (Kedron)
  • Wondrous Love
Publisher: Mel Bay
Composer/Author: Bay, William
Catalog Number: WBM57M