6 Recorder Sonatas - Recorder and Piano

Catalog: HN1497

Price: $37.76

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


At the beginning of the 18th century, the recorder enjoyed great popularity as a solo instrument for amateurs. Among these were also the princesses of the English court, for whose musical entertainment and training Handel's six recorder sonatas were probably written in 1725/26. Only four of them appeared shortly thereafter in print and thus also reached a broader audience; the other two were first discovered for the recorder in the 20th century.

Thanks to their melodic and rhythmic incisiveness, the pieces, whose recorder parts are relatively easily mastered, number among the most beautiful written for this instrument. Owing to wide-ranging bass lines and copious figures, the continuo instrument requires a rather well-versed player.

In the score of the Urtext edition, Ullrich Scheideler provides a moderate continuo realisation; the additionally available performance score (HN 1574) with figured basso part offers the advanced musician latitude for his/her own improvisation.

Table of Contents:
  • Sonata in G Minor, HWV 360
  • Sonata in A Minor, HWV 362
  • Sonata in C Major, HWV 365
  • Sonata in F Major, HWV 369
  • Sonata in D Minor, HWV 367a
  • Sonata in B-flat Major, HWV 377
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Handel, G. F.
Arranger/Editor: Schaper & Schneideler
Catalog Number: HN1497