6 Sonatas, BWV 1014-1019 - Violin and Piano (or Harpsichord)

Catalog: HN223

Regular Price: $64.95

On Sale for $45.47

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


For violin and piano (or harpsichord).  Includes an extra violin solo part with fingerings and bowings by Karl Rohrig.

Bach probably composed his six violin sonatas between 1717 and 1723, during his tenure as court Kapellmeister in K├Âthen. Apparently he was no longer content with adding the solo part to a bass-line, so wrote the harpsichord part out in full instead. As for compositional technique, his model here was the Baroque trio sonata; but the path to the duo sonata in the modern sense, however, is already traced out.

The sonatas were not published until 50 years after Bach's demise. The transmission of the individual sonatas is sometimes problematic, especially since little autograph material has survived. The Appendix to this Urtext volume includes reproductions of various versions of different pieces.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Sonata in B minor, BWV 1014
  • 2. Sonata in A Major, BWV 1015
  • 3. Sonata in E Major, BWV 1016
  • 4. Sonata in C minor, BWV 1017
  • 5. Sonata in F minor, BWV 1018
  • 6. Sonata in G Major, BWV 1019
Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Bach, J. S.
Arranger/Editor: Eppstein, Hans
Catalog Number: HN223
Pages: 228