Celtic Airs - Fiddle (or other instrument)

Catalog: MB31048M

Price: $20.69

Expected to Ship in 1-3 Weeks

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher or manufacturer. Backorders average 1-3 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small companies, and temporarily unavailable items.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


These 102 lilting slow airs with suggested chord changes are suitable for violin, flute, penny whistle, recorder, concertina, accordion, keyboard, harp, hammered dulcimer, etc., accompanied by any chord-capable instrument. Ancient to 19th-century in origin, most of these melodies will seem refreshingly new to modern-day musicians, audiences and even connoisseurs of the Celtic style. The author encourages readers to add their own ornaments once they have learned the basic tunes.

Most of the tune titles appear in their original Scots Gaelic or Irish with helpful English translations; the original titles, however, lend this collection an air of authenticity. These melodies are worthy of performance and recording by modern musicians, and one Christmas tune in particular, “Taladh Chriosta” (Christ Child’s Lullaby”), ranks right up there with “What Child Is This/Greensleeves” in its originality and sheer beauty.

This collection includes access to online audio of all 102 melodies.

Table of Contents:
  • Amhran Na Leabhar
  • Ar Eirinn Ni Neosfainn Ce Hi
  • An Ataireachd Ard
  • Baidin Fheilimi
  • The Banks of the Suir
  • Blind Mary
  • An Boithrin Bui
  • An Bonnan Bui
  • Brid Og Ni Mhaille
  • The Broom of the Cowdenknowes
  • Bruach Na Carraige Baine
  • An Buachaill Caol Dubh
  • Buachaill on Eirne
  • The Bush Aboon Traquair
  • Caidil Gu La
  • Cailin Na Gruaige Doinne
  • Cait An Caidil An Ribhinn An Nochd?
  • Cait Ni Dhuibhir
  • Caitlin Triall
  • Caoineadh An Spailpin
  • Caoineadh Na d’Tri Muire
  • Caol Muile
  • Carrickfergus
  • Carrigdhoun
  • Casadh An Tsugain
  • The Castle of Dromore
  • Cha Bhi Mi Gad Thaladh
  • Cha Till Mis A’ Sheoladh
  • Chi Mi Na Morbheanna
  • A ‘Chuthag
  • Cill Chais
  • Coilsfield House
  • An Coineachan
  • Coinneamh An t-Strath Mhor
  • Coinnleach Glas An Fhomhair
  • Contae Mhaigheo
  • Cradle Song
  • Chodh Chailein
  • De Bharr Na gCnoc
  • Death and the Sinner
  • Do You Remember That Night?
  • An Droighnean Donn
  • Eamonn A’ Chnoic
  • Eanach Dhuin
  • Eilidh
  • Eileen A Run
  • Eleanor Plunkett
  • The Emigrant’s Complaint
  • Failte Don Eilean Sgitheanach
  • The Fair Maid of Wicklow
  • Farewell to Skye
  • Fath Mo Bhuartha
  • Fear A ‘Bhata
  • Fill Fill A Run O
  • The Flower of the Quern
  • An Ghaoth Aneas
  • Glenswilly
  • Gradh Geal Mo Chridhe
  • Hey Tuttie Tatie
  • Highland Cradle Song
  • Highland Pibroch
  • I See Mull
  • Inis Oirr
  • Jimmy Mo Mhile Stor
  • Kelvin Grove
  • The Lambs on the Green Hills
  • Laoidh Chaluim Chille
  • Loch Liobhan
  • MacPherson’s Rant
  • The Maid That Tends the Goats
  • A Man’s a Man for All That
  • An Mhaighdean Mhara
  • Mo Dhachaigh
  • Mo Ghile Mear
  • Mo Nighean Dhon Bhoidheach
  • Mo Run Geal Dileas
  • Molly St. George
  • The Month of January
  • Morag of Dunvegan
  • Music O’Spey
  • My Nanny O
  • Na Connerys
  • O’Luaidh
  • Oft in the Stilly Night
  • The Poor Irish Boy
  • Port Gordon
  • Port Na bPucai
  • An Raibh Tu Ag An gCarraig?
  • The Road to Balintore
  • Se Gaol A’bhodaich Fionnlagh
  • Sliabh Geal gCua
  • Sliabh Na mBan
  • The Snowy Breasted Pearl
  • Soraidh Slan Le Fionnairidh
  • Taimse Im’ Chodladh
  • Taladh Chriosta
  • Thug Mi’n Oidche Raoir San Airidh
  • Tweed Side
  • The Waters of Kylesku
  • Ye Banks and Braes
  • Young Jockey
  • The Young Man’s Dream
Publisher: Mel Bay
Composer/Author: Various
Arranger/Editor: Woods, Bill
Catalog Number: MB31048M
Pages: 108