Symphonies Nos. 6 and 7 - Full Score

Catalog: 842215

Price: $17.96

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


The music of composer Jean Sibelius (1865--1957) is often credited with helping Finland form a national identity in its struggle for independence from Russia. Inspired by nature and Nordic mythology, his works include seven symphonies as well as tone poems and choral music.

Symphony No. 6 in D Minor, Op. 104, is a "poem within the framework of a symphony," and Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 105, is a one-movement "symphonic fantasy."

Conductor Osma Vanska, a noted interpreter of the composer's music, observed that "Number Six is autobiographical. An aging man feels his own incapacity. The ideals are there, but he cannot reach them. The seventh forms a pair with the sixth, but it is not autobiographical. Number seven is sacred music."

Reprinted from authoritative sources, this edition offers musicians and music lovers a sturdy, single volume of Sibelius's last symphonies.

Table of Contents:
  • Symphony No. 6
  • Symphony No. 7
Sample Pages
Publisher: Dover
Composer/Author: Sibelius, Jean
Catalog Number: 842215
Pages: 172