Sequenza XII - Unaccompanied Bassoon

Catalog: UE30264

Price: $42.95

1 left in stock

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


This piece requires enormous virtuosity, if only because the player must employ circular-breathing technique throughout; the result is a work sounding for 19 minutes without breaks or pauses for breath. The work was tailor-made for French bassoonist Pascal Gallois, who added the special annotations to the score.

Berio calls Sequenza XII “a meditation on the circumstance that the bassoon – perhaps more than any other wind instrument – seems to have oppositional characteristics in its personality – differing profiles, differing articulation options, differing characteristics of timbre and dynamics.”

Publisher: Universal
Composer/Author: Berio, Luciano
Catalog Number: UE30264