Sonata in C Major, HWV 365 - Flute (or Recorder) and Basso Continuo

Catalog: BA8648

Price: $3.15

2 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


The sonatas for flute and basso continuo by George Frideric Handel have been firm favourites among flautists for 270 years. The edition published by Bärenreiter in 1955 could essentially only rely on the pieces issued by the Chrysander publishing house since 1858. In the meantime, the flute sonatas have been revised in the “Halle Handel Edition”, taking into account all available sources.

This single edition appears as part of a series of popular works from the Bärenreiter catalogue to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the publishing house. It represents an excerpt from the anthology "Eleven Sonatas for Flute and Basso continuo" (BA04225). This reproduces the Urtext of the “Halle Handel Edition”. The Sonata in C major HWV 365 comprises five movements (1. Larghetto, 2. Allegro, 3. Larghetto, 4. A tempo di Gavotta, 5. Allegro). It enjoys great popularity and, although designated in the sources as a recorder sonata, it is played on the flute just as much.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Larghetto
  • 2. Allegro
  • 3. Larghetto
  • 4. A tempo di Gavotta
  • 5. Allegro
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Handel, G. F.
Arranger/Editor: Schmitz, Best, & Schneider
Catalog Number: BA8648