Passionskantate - Full Score

Catalog: CV37.104/00

Price: $143.96

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


"He was without argument our greatest church composer," wrote the lexicographer E. L. Gerber a few years after Homilius's death in 1785. As a result of the destruction of the Kreuzkirche during the Seven Years War, the longtime Kreuzkantor, a pupil of Bach, performed his professional musical duties primarily at the Frauenkirche in Dresden. The Passionskantate was well received and widely disseminated during the 18th and 19th centuries: Thanks to its popularity it was published in 1775 by Breitkopf as a full score - a rare honor, accorded to only one other Passion in the 18th century (Graun's "Tod Jesu"). The text describes the events of the Passion from a very personal point of view: The story focuses less on the actual events, then upon the feelings of the observers of these events. The subjective nature of the narrative is reflected in a very dramatically marked style of recitative, which presents a charming contrast to the expressive choral writing and the melodically accented arias. With the release of a new music editions and a SACD/CD the Passionskantate can now be "rediscovered."

Table of Contents:
  • Chorale "Ein Lämmlein geht"
  • Chorus "Siehe, das ist Gottes Lamm"
  • Recitative "Mit väterlicher Stimme"
  • Aria "Wie tödlich schrecken die Gerichte"
  • Recitative "Du siehst ihn, Mitternacht"
  • Aria "Ich bete, zürnet nicht"
  • Chorale "Seine Liebe, sein Erbarmen"
  • Recitative "Verflucht von Gott liegt er dort auf der Erde"
  • Aria "Nun sterb ich Sünder nicht"
  • Chorale "Ich grüße dich am Kreuzesstamm"
  • Recitative "Hier steht das Holz, wo Jesus bluten soll"
  • Aria "Bewaffne dich, Mächtger, mit Schrecken"
  • Chorus "Unsre Sünden und Missetaten"
  • Recitative "Nun ist der Hirte ganz geschlagen"
  • Arioso "Mir hast du Arbeit gemacht"
  • Recitative "Ach, unter dieser Last"
  • Arioso "Ich tilge deine Übertretung"
  • Aria "Getrost, mein Christ"
  • Chorus "Daran ist erschienen"
  • Recitative "Die Mörder kommen schon"
  • Aria & Chorus "Nun wird mich, Gott, dein Donner fassen"
  • Chorus "Ach, Herr, unsere Missetaten"
  • Recitative "Seht, wie Jerusalem sich wider ihn empöret"
  • Aria "Umgürtet mit Gerechtigkeit"
  • Recitative "Verspottet und verhöhnt"
  • Chorus "Israel, hoffe auf den Herrn"
  • Chorale "Ob bei uns ist der Sünden viel"
  • Chorale "Nun ich weiß, worauf ich bau"
  • Recitative "Zerreiße, Golgatha"
  • Aria "Am Kreuze stirbt er für die Sünden"
  • Chorus "Hier hängt das Opfer für die Sünden"
Publisher: Carus Verlag
Composer/Author: Homilius, Gottfried August
Catalog Number: CV37.104/00