Diary of One Who Disappeared, The - Tenor, Alto, 3 Female Voices, and Piano

Catalog: BA9575

Price: $20.95

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Janacek’s intimate chamber-music drama about the passionate love of a simple farm boy for a beautiful gypsy girl is one of his great vocal masterpieces.

This cycle of 22 songs for tenor (an alto and three female voices are added in three numbers) was composed on a setting of poems that were published anonymously. It was not until 80 years later that their author was identified as the regional poet and writer Ozef Kalda. The cycle also contains theatrical elements, such as the alto entrance and exit cues and lighting effects. Composed in 1917-19, the "Diary" was premiered in Brno in 1921 from a manuscript prepared by Gustav Homola.

The same manuscript served as a basis for the first edition which was issued by the Brno publisher Oldrich Pazdirek in 1921 as well as for this current first Urtext edition.

Table of Contents:
  • I. Potkal sem mladou cigánku (Ich traf eine junge Zigeunerin / One day I met a Gypsy girl)
  • II. Ta cerná cigánka (Ist sie noch immer da / That black-eyed Gypsy)
  • III. Svatojanske musky (Wie der Glühwürmchen Spiel / Through the twilight glow-worms)
  • IV. Uz mlade vlastuvky (Zwitschern im Nest schon die Schwalben / Already swallows are)
  • V. Tezko sa mi ore (Heut ist's schwer zu pflügen / Weary work is ploughing)
  • VI. Hajsi, vy siví volci (Heisa! ihr grauen Ochsen / Hey, there my tawny oxen)
  • VII. Ztratil sem kolícek (Wo ist das Pflöcklein hin / I've got a loose axle)
  • VIII. Nehledte, volecci (Seht nicht, ihr Öchselein / Don't look, my oxen, so sad)
  • IX. Vítaj, Janícku (Welcome my handsome one / Sei willkommen, Jan)
  • X. Boze dálny, nesmrtelny (Gott dort oben, sag, warum nur / God all-powerful, God eternal)
  • XI. Tahne vuna k lesu (Von der Heidin Wangen / From the rip'ning cornfield)
  • XII. Tmavá olsinka (Dunkler Erlenwald / Forest's shady height)
  • XIII
  • XIV. Slnecko sa zdvihá (Sonn ist aufgegangen / See how high the sun is!)
  • XV. Moji siví volci (Meine grauen Ochsen / Now my tawny oxen)
  • XVI. Co sem to udelal? (Was hab ich da getan? / What has come over me?)
  • XVII. Co komu suzeno (Flieh, wenn das Schicksal ruft / Who can escape his fate)
  • XVIII. Nedbám já vcil o nic (Nichts mehr denk ich / Nothing matters now)
  • XIX. Letí straka, letí (Wie die Elster wegfliegt / See that thieving magpie)
  • XX. Mám já panenku (Hab ein Jüngferlein / Have I a beauty)
  • XXI. Muj drahy tatícku (Vater, dem Tag fluch ich / Father, how wrong you were)
  • XXII. S Bohem, rodny kraju (Leb denn wohl, Heimatland / Then farewell, dearest land)
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Janacek, Leos
Arranger/Editor: Zahradka, Jiri
Catalog Number: BA9575