Concerto in D - Bass and Piano

Catalog: FH2252

Price: $24.95

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Concerto in D Major for Double Bass and Orchestra, by Jan Krtitel Vanhal

Includes double bass solo part, piano reduction, solo manuscript reference fascimile.

This double bass concerto by Jan Krtitel Vanhal belongs to the classical bass literature, along with the double bass concertos by Johann Matthias Sperger, Carl Ditters von Dittersdorf and Franz Anton Hoffmeister.
It has the typical style of the double bass concerto of the Viennese Classical period; i.e. it was composed for the third-fourth-tuned instrument with the empty strings A-D-F#-A. This (D major) triad tuning, today referred to as the "Viennese tuning", offers the most favourable conditions for all the technical sequences of the solo part.
For the musician interested in historical playing practice, the facsimile of the solo part in the contemporary manuscript is included for comparison.

Publisher: Hofmeister
Composer/Author: Vanhal, Jan Krtitel
Arranger/Editor: Trumpf, Klaus
Catalog Number: FH2252
Pages: 46