Open 11 to 4, Mon-Sat. Curbside service available. Full COVID-19 Details

Bagatelles, Op. 5 - Piano

Catalog Number: 00-551

Price: $7.19

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Alexander Tcherepnin (1899-1977) was a cosmopolitan composer and concert pianist.  Important cities in his life were St. Petersburg (to 1918), Tbilisi, then known as Tiflis (1918-1921), Paris (1921-1949), Chicago (1949-1964) and New York (from 1964).  Tcherepnin's father, Nikolai, was a composer and conductor, and Alexander landed in Paris because of his father's moves. 

Tcherepnin made extended trips to China and Japan between 1934 and 1937.  He met his wife, Lee Hsien Ming Tcherepnin (1915-1991), in China.  They were living in Paris at the time of the Nazi Occupation and he had to write music under assumed names to disguise his Russian identity.  He taught at DePaul University in Chicago from 1949 to 1964.  He and Ming became American citizens in 1958.  In 1967, Tcherepnin was the second Russian emigre composer after Stravinsky (1962) to tour the Soviet Union as guest of the Soviet government. 

The ten Bagatelles, Op. 5, are early works, produced during 1912-18.  The Alfred edition was issued in 2011 and includes historical background and study aids by Lynn Freeman Olson. 

Bagatelles Nos. 1 and 10 in the Alfred edition are Federation Festivals 2016-2020 selections.

Table of Contents:
  • 01. Allegro marziale
  • 02. Con vivacita
  • 03. Vivo
  • 04. Lento con tristezza
  • 05. Dolce
  • 06. Allegro con spirito
  • 07. Prestissimo
  • 08. Allegro
  • 09. Allegretto
  • 10. Presto

  • Publisher: Alfred
    Composer/Author: Tcherepnin, A.
    Arranger/Editor: Olson, Lynn Freeman
    Catalog Number: 00-551
    Pages: 32