6 Sonatas, Vol. 2 - Bassoon and Piano

Catalog: IMC2116

Price: $13.73

3 left in stock

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


This second volume of Galliard's 6 Sonatas for Bassoon and Piano includes the second set of 3 (no. 4, 5, and 6). The editions have a solo bassoon part, as well as a piano accompaniment score.

Edited by Arthur Weisberg, a noted bassoonist and composer, these works contain many of his interprative additions, which make the work far more accessible for any student, or for anyone seeking interprative help. Despite his additions, the work remains true to its baroque origins - nowhere does the editing become heavy-handed or inauthentic.

These three sonatas explore two baroque styles - the Fourth Sonata shows the influence of the baroque dance suite, with an opening prelude movement (in ABA form), followed by three dances - the German-inflected Allemanda, the quicker Corrente, and the refined Tempo di Menuet. The Fifth and Sixth Sonatas are in the Sonata di Chiesa form, with a slow opening movement, a dance second movement, a slow third movement, and a rousing final dance.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Sonata No. 4
  • I. Adagio - Allegro e staccato - Adagio
  • II. Allemande. A tempo giusto
  • III. Corrente. Spiritoso
  • IV. Tempo di Menuet. Moderato
  • 2. Sonata No. 5
  • I. Adagio
  • II. Allegro e spiritoso
  • III. Alla Siciliana
  • IV. Allegro assai
  • 3. Sonata No. 6
  • I. Larghetto
  • II. Alla breve
  • III. Sarabanda
  • IV. Menuet
Publisher: International Music Co.
Composer/Author: Galliard, Johann
Arranger/Editor: Fussl / Weisberg
Catalog Number: IMC2116

Related Products: