Sonatas, Op. 2 - Violin and Basso Continuo

Catalog: UT50176

Price: $44.95

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Antonio Vivaldi's sonatas for violin and basso continuo are among the most valuable works written between the violin sonatas by Arcangelo Corelli and those by Johann Sebastian Bach. With his 12 Sonatas Op. 2, Vivaldi presents a multi-faceted spectrum of forms and possibilities of performance and expression.

The new edition of the Wiener Urtext Edition is based on both the first Venetian edition and the edition of the publisher Roger from Amsterdam which was published only a little later. On this basis we have got a much more logical musical text in the new edition. The notes on interpretation by the Baroque expert John Holloway add valuable suggestions for a performance to the edition which not only contains the solo violin part and a continuo score with realized basso continuo, but also a figured bass part which gives experienced continuo players the opportunity to improvise on the basso continuo part and can also be used by a continuo cellist.

Table of Contents:
  • Sonata No. 1 in G minor, RV 27
  • Sonata No. 2 in A major, RV 31
  • Sonata No. 3 in D minor, RV 14
  • Sonata No. 4 in F major, RV 20
  • Sonata No. 5 in B minor, RV 36
  • Sonata No. 6 in C major, RV 1
  • Sonata No. 7 in C minor, RV 8
  • Sonata No. 8 in G major, RV 23
  • Sonata No. 9 in E minor, RV 16
  • Sonata No. 10 in F minor, RV 21
  • Sonata No. 11 in D major, RV 9
  • Sonata No. 12 in A minor, RV 32
Publisher: Wiener Urtext
Composer/Author: Vivaldi, Antonio
Arranger/Editor: Moosbauer, Bernhard
Catalog Number: UT50176
Pages: 184