Complete Works, Volume 6.1 - Keyboard/Organ

Catalog: BA9213

Price: $52.85

2 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Johann Jacob Froberger (1617–67) enjoyed an outstanding reputation during his lifetime, as his compositional style represented a synthesis of Italian, French and English influences. There is now a growing awareness that Froberger’s significance for keyboard music of the 17th century is comparable only with that of Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck.

Each volume contains a critical commentary as well as a detailed foreword with sections on the scope and structure of the new edition, the editorial method and performance practice. Information on contemporary instruments, ornamentation and Froberger’s biography is also included.

Both volumes VI.1 and VI.2 contain music from anonymous copies of the 17th century undoubtedly made from autograph manuscripts which were returned to the Singakademie in Berlin from Kiev in 2001. They also include further new discoveries of manuscripts and compositions.

The New Edition of the Complete Works will comprise a total of eleven volumes.

  • Urtext scholarly-critical edition setting new standards
  • Reflects the current state of research
  • Music from the newly-discovered “ Kiev sources”
  • Detailed explanatory notes (Ger/Eng)

"It is very much to be wished that these pieces take their place in concerts as well as in church services of all traditions. ...the pleasure obtained by both performer and listener will repay the time spent in learning them many times over and will in its own way justify and repay the editor and publishers for having taken on this essential and monumental task and restore Forberger to his rightful position as one of the most innovative and influential keyboard composers of all time."
(The Organ 373/2015)

Table of Contents:
  • Toccatas and Partitas FbWV 101-102, 113-115, 118, 613-614, 616-617, 627, 630

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Froberger, Johann
Arranger/Editor: Rampe, Siegbert
Catalog Number: BA9213

Related Products: