Jazz Nocturne and Other Piano Music with Selected Songs - Piano/Vocal

Catalog: 489183

Price: $17.96

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Nicknamed "the Girl Gershwin," Tin Pan Alley jazz pianist Dana Suesse was also a composer of film scores and Broadway show tunes. This collection of more than twenty-five piano pieces and songs is the first published folio of her music. Popular songs include "Ho Hum!," "You Ought a Be in Pictures," and "The Night is Young and You're So Beautiful." Piano works include Blue Moonlight, Jazz Nocturne, The Cocktail Suite, Three Compositions for the Piano, 110th Street Rhumba, Serenade to a Skyscraper, and other sparkling melodies. Dana Suesse (1909–87) achieved national prominence with her first publication, Syncopated Love Song. She collaborated with the most prominent songwriters of the 1930s, and her film scores include that of The Seven-Year Itch. Pianist Peter Mintun, Suesse's friend and executor, edited this volume and offers a profile of the composer's life and work. Cabaret pianists, jazz piano enthusiasts, and performers of the Great American Songbook will treasure this unique anthology of twentieth-century piano music.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. 110th Street Rhumba
  • 2. Afternoon of a Black Faun
  • 3. American Nocturne
  • 4. Berceuse
  • 5. Blue Moonlight
  • 6. The Cocktail Suite
  • 7. Jazz Nocturne
  • 8. Night Sky
  • 9. Rockette
  • 10. Scherzette
  • 11. Serenade to a Skyscraper
  • 12. Swanee River
  • 13. Syncopated Love Song
  • 14. Three Compositions for the Piano
  • 15. Ho Hum!
  • 16. Have You Forgotten?
  • 17. Whistling in the Dark
  • 18. My Silent Love
  • 19. You Oughta Be in Pictures
  • 20. The Night is Young and You're So Beautiful
  • 21. Yours for a Song
  • 22. This Changing World
Publisher: Dover
Composer/Author: Suesse, Dana
Arranger/Editor: Mintun, Peter
Catalog Number: 489183
Pages: 170