Orr: Basic Recorder Technique Vol 1 - C Recorders

Catalog: 50235400

Price: $15.29

3 left in stock

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Hugh Orr's recorder method for C recorders (soprano and tenor) consists of two books - Basic Recorder Technique Volume 1 and Basic Recorder Technique Volume 2, each available separately. Players will need both books to cover the full range of the recorder.

This book is intended for players who already read music, and its common-sense approach is great for adults - though it is also good for younger students. It's also a wonderful supplement for intermediate and advanced players looking to clean up their technique, note by note and interval by interval. 

As the cover of the book suggests, Orr concentrates on interval studies and clean technique, and includes many pictures to illustrate correct hand and finger placement, with many notes about finger action. The pace is careful, and the early introduction of low C and its neighbors is relatively unique to this method, and designed to tackle the issues of the right hand head-on.

Volume 1 introduces notes in this order: G, A, B, C, D, low C, low D, low E, low F, Bb. All use either a fully closed or fully open thumb hole.

Volume 2 begins the study of  the "half-hole" technique for the thumb hole. Notes introduced in Volume 2 are: high E, low F#, high F, high G, high A, high F#, G#, C#, high B, high C, high G#, high Bb, high Eb, and high D, for a total of 2 octaves and one note. The low Eb/D# and low Db/C# are not addressed.

Table of Contents:
  • Frere Jacques (Are You Sleeping?)
  • Dance Tune (T.Susato-16th C.)
  • Four Part Round
  • Go To Joan Glover
  • Judge's Dance,The (Swedish)
  • Turn Again, Whittington
  • Was Gott Tut,Das Ist Wohlgetan
  • 2 Part Round
  • Gavotte (Handel)
  • German Song
  • Goddesses
  • Theme By Hook
  • Russian Folk Tune
  • French Song
  • Old French Air
  • 3 Part Round
  • Theme (Mozart)
  • Go 'way from my Window (Niles)
  • Frere Jacques (Are You Sleeping?)
  • Chorale
  • Child This Day Is Born
  • German Dance
  • Gavotte
  • Allemande
Publisher: Associated
Composer/Author: Orr, Hugh
Catalog Number: 50235400
Pages: 44