Concerto in D major - Viola and Piano

Catalog: HN739

Price: $22.46

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Along with the Stamitz concerto, Hoffmeister's Viola Concerto is the most important audition piece for viola players. Yet, it has been handed down in a complicated source tradition, surviving in a single contemporary manuscript covered with many layers of markings.

 Henle's piano reduction reconstructs, for the first time, the earliest textual layer in this source, thereby coming as close as possible to Hoffmeister's actual intentions. The reconstructed original is accompanied by a detailed critical commentary. Fingering and bowing marks have been added by Kim Kashkashian.

Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Hoffmeister, F. A.
Artist: Kashkashian, Kim
Arranger/Editor: Gertsch/Ronge
Catalog Number: HN739
Pages: 50

Related Products: