Sonata in C-sharp - Alto Sax and Piano

Catalog: CC2888

Price: $29.95

2 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Fernande Decruck, born Fernande Breilh (1896-1954), was a French composer, organ recitalist, and teacher. After some years of instruction at the Toulouse Conservatory, she entered the Paris Conservatory as a student of organ and composition. In Paris Breilh met Maurice Decruck, also a student, and they were married in 1924. Their children were Jeannine (1925), Michel (1926), and Alain (1937).

Fernande lived in the United States from 1928 to 1933, during which time Maurice was a bassist in the New York Philharmonic and also played the occasional saxophone part, until a hand injury forced his withdrawal from instrumental playing in 1932. In America she gave organ recitals featuring extensive improvisations and began composing for the saxophone. In France she expanded her range of compositions and taught harmony and solfege at the Toulouse Conservatory from 1937 to 1942. Several of her compositions were published in France between 1943 and 1947.

Fernande and her youngest son Alain lived in Massachusetts for a few months during 1947-48. She and Maurice divorced in 1950. She suffered a stroke in 1952. In recent years her music, expecially her saxophone music, has received a new lease on life through recordings.

The tonality of the Sonata in C-sharp is not designated as major or minor. First performed and published in 1943, the sonata shows signs of originating as a concerto or suite for viola and orchestra, being changed to alto saxophone as solo instrument, then being changed further to piano accompaniment. The Billaudot publication includes parts for both viola and alto sax as solo instrument. This printing seems to be a corrected edition, in the accompaniment and in both solo parts, although no editor's name is shown.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Tres modere, expressif
  • 2. Noel. Andante
  • 3. Fileuse. Legerement anime
  • 4. Nocturne et Rondel. Calme, tres modere
Publisher: Billaudot
Composer/Author: Decruck, Fernande
Catalog Number: CC2888