Fantasy Pieces Op. 2 - Oboe and Piano

Catalog: HN1131

Price: $17.96

3 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Carl Nielsen's Fantasy Pieces for Oboe and Piano were composed in 1889/90. Having just gained a position as a violinist in the Royal Danish Orchestra, Nielsen had already experienced success with his String Suite Op. 1 both as a composer and as a conductor. Several sketches and autographs bear witness to his intensive work on these contrasting pieces for oboe, which were to appear in 1890 as his Opus 2. The two movements, Romance and Humoreske, are dedicated to the oboist Olivo Krause who played in the royal orchestra. His beautiful tone and virtuosic technique probably played no small part in the fact that these miniatures by the young, talented composer took the public and critics by storm at their first performance in March 1891.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Romance
  • 2. Humoresque
Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Nielsen, Carl
Catalog Number: HN1131
Pages: 16