Concerto No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 73 - Clarinet and Piano

Catalog: 48009688

Price: $20.69

2 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Weber's two clarinet concertos were written in 1811, the same year as the famous Concertino.  The concertos present the same editorial problems as the Concertino, with the soloist's son Carl Baermann having created new and somewhat re-written versions of the works for publication in 1870, but also with Weber's manuscripts and the first published editions being incomplete regarding dynamics and articulation.  At least in the case of the Concertino, one could opine that some of the re-written figures or phrases are more effective for the clarinet than the originals.  A manuscript copy of the full score of Concerto No. 1, made by Weber for soloist Heinrich Baermann, now resides in the Library of Congress and has been digitized online.

Edited, and piano reduction by, Eric Simon.  Forward in English and German.  Practical performing edition.  Editor consulted Weber's manuscript.  This edition uses slurs in the solo part to produce a more lyrical effect than the usual approach to tonguing in technical passages.  The editor calls for straight tonguing in select phrases (subject to alteration by the teacher or player). 


Table of Contents:
  • 1. Allegro
  • 2. Adagio ma non troppo
  • 3. Rondo: Allegretto
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Composer/Author: Weber, C. M. von
Arranger/Editor: Simon, Eric
Catalog Number: 48009688
Pages: 28