Histoires - Alto Sax and Piano

Catalog: AL19854

Price: $37.17

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Jacques Ibert (1890-1962), a graduate of the Paris Conservatoire, was director of the French Academy in Rome from 1937 to 1960.  During World War I, Ibert was an officer in the French navy.  His experiences traveling the Mediterranean as a naval officer were reflected in one of his best-known orchestral works, Escales (Ports of Call).  Ibert was generally "modern" but non-doctrinaire in his approach to composition. 

Histoires, originally composed for piano solo in 1919-1920, was arranged for saxophone and piano by Marcel Mule and published in this format in 1939.  Missing from the saxophone version are movements 4 and 10 of the original ten-movement piano version.  Movement 4 was "A Giddy Girl" (title in English).  Movement 10 was "Le Cortege de Balkis."


Table of Contents:
  • 1. La meneuse de tortues d'or
  • 2. Le petit ane blanc
  • 3. Le vieux mendiant
  • 5. Dans la maison triste (movement 4 not used for this version)
  • 6. Le palais abandonne
  • 7. Bajo la mesa
  • 8. La cage de cristal
  • 9. La Marchande d'eau fraiche (movement 10 not used for this version)
Publisher: Alphonse Leduc
Composer/Author: Ibert, Jacques
Arranger/Editor: Mule, Marcel
Catalog Number: AL19854