Danceries, Set 2 - British Brass Band

Catalog: 0571570771

Regular Price: $125.50

On Sale for $62.75

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.



Set II

Arranged for brass band. Includes score and parts.

Danceries, Set II was commissioned by Keith Allen and Birmingham Symphonic Winds, supported by PRS for Music Foundation and the RVW Trust. The world première of this work was given by Birmingham Symphonic Winds, conducted by Keith Allen, at the CBSO Centre, Birmingham in 2011.

This second set of Danceries continues the format established in Danceries, Set I, namely in using material taken from Playford's Dancing Master, a collection of folk and popular tunes published in the seventeenth century, to form the basis of an extended dance suite. In this set, the melodies have been more abstracted and project only a distant echo of their original forms, but as before, each movement is self-contained, colorful, and direct---with its own distinct mood.

Instrumentation: E-flat Soprano Cornet, Solo B-flat Cornets, 2nd and 3rd B-flat Cornets, B-flat Flugal Horn, Solo E-flat Horn, 1st and 2nd E-flat Horns, 1st and 2nd B-flat Baritones, 1st and 2nd B-flat Trombones, Bass Trombone, B-flat Euphoniums, E-flat Basses, B-flat Basses, Timpani, and Percussion (3 players).

Sample Pages
Publisher: Faber Music UK
Composer/Author: Hesketh, Kenneth
Catalog Number: 0571570771