Concerto - String Bass and Piano

Catalog: HN979

Price: $37.76

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Kontrabasskonzert (Double Bass Concerto)

Piano Reduction in C and D major by Christoph Sobanski

Edited by Tobias Glockler. Includes double bass parts for solo, orchestra and "Viennese tuning" with cadenzas, fingering and bowing by Tobias Glockler. With additional cadenzas by Johannes Sperger.

Following Dittersdorf and Hoffmeister, Johann Baptist Vanhal and his sole double-bass concerto add a further highlight to the classical bass literature in Henle's catalog. The virtuoso work was transmitted only in a copy of a part owned by the famous double-bass player Johannes Sperger (1750-1812) and found in his estate, which raises a few questions on account of the many later additions in the solo part (especially concerning the octave transpositions). In Henle's Urtext edition, Tobias Glockler proposes a solution to this dilemma with a musical text that is outstandingly well-prepared for the performing artist. The piano reduction is printed in two keys (C and D major). Moreover an additional part, written in fingering notation, has been specially designed for use with the Viennese tuning customary in Vanhal's days. It allows players to use this resonant historical tuning immediately without tedious retraining.

Table of Contents:
  • I. Allegro moderato
  • II. Adagio
  • III. Finale
Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Vanhal, J. B.
Arranger/Editor: Glockler, Tobias
Catalog Number: HN979
Pages: 89

Related Products: