Groth Music home
Now Hiring! See Details

Peer Gynt Suites - 1 Piano 4 Hands

Catalog: HN1243

Price: $20.66

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Grieg's incidental music for Henrik Ibsen's drama Peer Gynt contains some of his best-known compositions, such as Morning mood and In the hall of the Mountain King. Grieg later extracted the most beautiful pieces to form two orchestral suites and arranged himself these versions for piano solo and piano four-hands. There was a surprise in store for Henle when preparing their Urtext edition. In the autograph and the first print run, the second suite contained another movement, the Dance of the Mountain King's Daughter, which Grieg deleted shortly afterwards. This charming dance appears in the appendix to this edition - printed again for the first time in 120 years! The Norwegian pianist and Grieg expert Einar Steen-Nokleberg was co-editor for this edition and also provided the new fingerings.

Table of Contents:
  • Suite No. 1, Op. 46
  • Suite No. 2, Op. 55

Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Grieg, Edvard
Arranger/Editor: Edvard Grieg
Catalog Number: HN1243
Pages: 60

Related Products: