Quatuor - Sax Quartet SATB

Catalog: AL23407

Price: $64.30

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Quartet for Saxophones is a piece for four saxophones composed by Alfred Desenclos in 1964, which lasts around 15 minutes and 30 seconds. Initially written for the Marcel Mule Quartet, it is a typical French quartet, quite smooth and suave. The beginning of the piece that sets up the soprano saxophone against the others is quite jazzy but then it continues on to a more lyrical part, quite slow, with a simple melody. The tension is gradually built up and the finale unison is introduced quite dramatically, with some bursts of energy. This Quartet for Saxophones would fit a quartet of advanced to professional players.

Alfred Desenclos (1912-1961) is a French Composer who won the Prix de Rome in 1942. He also composed masses such as Messe de Requiem and other pieces for double bass, harp, flute, trumpet or horn.

Publisher: Alphonse Leduc
Composer/Author: Desenclos, Alfred
Catalog Number: AL23407