Concerto in F Major Op. 75 - Bassoon and Piano

Catalog: CU753

Price: $11.69

Expected to Ship in 1-3 Weeks

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher or manufacturer. Backorders average 1-3 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small companies, and temporarily unavailable items.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Carl Maria von Weber composed his Bassoon Concerto in Novermber 1811.  Georg Friedrich Brandt, principal bassoonist in the Munich Court Orchestra, gave the first performance the following month.  The year 1811 was also the year of three premieres by Brandt's orchestral colleague, Heinrich Baermann, of the Clarinet Concertino and two Concertos.  In 1822 Weber submitted the manuscript to his publisher and the parts, but not the score, were printed in 1823.

Weber's practice in notating the solo part was to indicate articulations only in select passages, leaving most such decisions to the soloist.  This was reflected in the original printing of 1823.  Subsequent editions have tended to be more practical and fill in the missing ariticulations, however not showing which markings were original and which were editorial.

The Cundy-Bettoney edition, published by Carl Fischer (CU753), first published in 1949, is a practical performing edition by Sol Schoenbach.


Table of Contents:
  • 1. Allegro ma non troppo
  • 2. Adagio
  • 3. Rondo: Allegro
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Composer/Author: Weber, C. M. von
Arranger/Editor: Schoenbach, Sol
Catalog Number: CU753
Pages: 20