Sonata in G Major, Op. 78 - Violin and Piano

Catalog: BA9431

Price: $18.95

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


We know today that Johannes Brahms wrote at least three sonatas for violin and piano before he composed his Sonata in G major op. 78. However these earlier works did not survive the test of the composer’s critical scrutiny and have not come down to us.

Op. 78 developed alongside the Violin Concerto op. 77 in the summers of 1878 and 1879. Clara Schumann was delighted by Brahms' citations from his own “Regenlied” and “Nachklang” (op. 59, nos. 3 and 4). Brahms conceived these figurations in melody and accompaniment to evocate raindrops. Even though the work was first received by Brahms' contemporaries with mixed enthusiasm, it quickly found its place in the standard violin repertoire.

  • A pioneering Urtext edition
  • With an unmarked Urtext part
  • With a second part including fingering and bowing based on the practices of contemporaries of Brahms
  • With an extensive Performance Practice Commentary

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Brahms, Johannes
Arranger/Editor: Brown/Costa
Catalog Number: BA9431

Related Products: