Sonata No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 38 - Cello and Piano

Catalog: HN1134

Price: $19.76

1 left in stock

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Violoncello Sonata in E minor, Op. 38

Editors: Claus Kanngiesser, Klaus Schilde, Johannes Behr, Egon Voss

The E minor Cello Sonata is the first work for one solo instrument and piano which the meticulous composer also had published. In summer 1865 Brahms offered it to the publisher Simrock as a sonata whose two instruments are both absolutely easy to play - and rightly so: contrary to the later F major Sonata Op. 99, this early sonata is technically less demanding, yet musically more striking at the same time, so that it is a hit with amateurs and professionals alike. Henle's edition is based on the new Brahms Complete Edition and thus boasts, besides in-depth commentary, a musical text revised according to the latest scholarly findings.

Includes a marked and unmarked cello part. Fingerings in the piano part are by Klaus Schilde, and those in the violin part are by Claus Kanngiesser.

Table of Contents:
  • III. Allegro
  • II. Allegretto quasi Menuetto
  • I. Allegro non troppo
Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Brahms, Johannes
Arranger/Editor: Kanngiesser et al.
Catalog Number: HN1134
Pages: 65