Sonata No. 1 in D Minor - Cello and Piano

Catalog: HN633

Price: $16.16

Expected to Ship in 1-3 Weeks

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher or manufacturer. Backorders average 1-3 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small companies, and temporarily unavailable items.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Sonata No. 1 in D minor

Urtext Edition. Edited by Ernst-Gunter Heinemann. Preface by Francois Lesure. Fingering of the piano part by Klaus Schilde. With supplementary violoncello part marked by Reiner Ginzel.

It was only with his late works that Debussy, an unconventional innovator, turned back to tradition. In 1915 he had six sonatas for various instruments in mind. He was only to complete three of them before his death in 1918, following a severe illness. The first of these was the Cello Sonata that he composed unusually quickly in 1915. During his summer holiday by the sea in Pourville, Debussy worked at great speed. The sonata, with an unusual sequence of movements (Prologue-Serenade-Finale), was published in that same year. The work belongs to the cellist's core repertoire.

Table of Contents:
  • I. Prologue
  • II. Serenade
  • III. Final
Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Debussy, Claude
Arranger/Editor: Heinnemann et al.
Catalog Number: HN633
Pages: 40