Groth Music home

Complete Organ Works, Volume 1

Catalog: BA8491

Price: $52.50

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Wilhelm Middelschulte (1863–1943) studied church music in Berlin and headed the organ department at the American Conservatory in Chicago and the Wisconsin Conservatory in Milwaukee from 1891 onwards. As a virtuoso organist he had a formative impact on American organ music: even Ferruccio Busoni called him a “master of counterpoint” and the greatest contrapuntist since J. S. Bach.

Middelschulte’s oeuvre consists entirely of organ works. He was a “modern classicist” firmly rooted in the 19th century tradition, yet strongly attached to baroque contrapuntal forms, and especially the works of Johann Sebastian Bach, with which he sought to rise above the compositional norm of his time. The result was a combination of romantic virtuosity with a vision of music that was anything but antiquarian, despite its historical models.

The D minor Passacaglia works on the same formal level as Bach’s famous Passacaglia in C minor. The Canons and Fugue on “ Vater unser im Himmelreich ” demonstrate the formal rigour that typifies Middelschulte’s music as a whole.

  • First Urtext edition of Middelschulte’s music
  • Every volume has a detailed preface and critical report (German / English)
  • Scheduled to include six volumes

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Passacaglia
  • 2. Canons and fugue on the chorale "Vater unser im Himmelreich"
  • 3. Two studies on the chorale "Vater unser im Himmelreich"

  • Publisher: Bärenreiter
    Composer/Author: Middelschulte, W.
    Arranger/Editor: Meyer & Sonnentheil
    Catalog Number: BA8491


    Related Products: