Groth Music home

Complete Organ Works, Volume 4

Catalog: BA9204

Price: $42.50

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Wilhelm Middelschulte (1863–1943) studied church music in Berlin. From 1891 onwards he worked as director of the organ department at the American Conservatory in Chicago and the Wisconsin Conservatory in Milwaukee. As a virtuoso organist he had a formative impact in the USA.

No lesser authority than Ferruccio Busoni described Middelschulte as a “master of counterpoint” and declared him to be the greatest contrapuntalist since Johann Sebastian Bach.

Volume IV contains two works which belong to the group of larger-scale compositions completed by the composer himself. The Contrapuntal Symphony was the last work to be published during the composer’s lifetime. The manuscript of the Chaconne was considered to be lost until recently and it is now being published here for the first time.

  • First Urtext edition of Middelschulte’s Complete Organ Works
  • First publication of the Chaconne
  • Each volume contains a detailed foreword and critical commentary (Ger/Eng)

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Contrapuntal Symphony on Themes by Joh. Seb. Bach
  • 2. Chaconne on the Theme Erich Rath

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Middelschulte, W.
Arranger/Editor: Meyer & Sonnentheil
Catalog Number: BA9204

Related Products: