Groth Music home
Now Hiring! See Details

6 Suites, BWV 1007-1012 - Cello Unaccompanied

Catalog: HN666

Price: $38.66

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

The most important source for Bach's Cello Suites is a copy made by his wife Anna Magdalena because the autograph is no longer extant. As further copies show, the actual musical text is scarcely problematic. However, the slurs, which are particularly important for string instruments, are very inexact and compel the editor to make difficult decisions. The following practical edition is in two parts. It not only offers the Urtext edition - with preface and critical commentary - but also a part for playing. The edition contains the Urtext part, but in addition offers a reproduction of Anna Magdalena's copy. This means that both cellists and music lovers alike are able to form their own opinion about the much discussed problems.

Table of Contents:
  • Suite No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1008
  • Suite No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007
  • Suite No. 3 in C major, BWV 1009
  • Suite No. 5 in C minor, BWV 1011
  • Suite No. 6 in D major, BWV 1012
  • Suite No. 4 in E flat major, BWV 1010

Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Bach, J. S.
Arranger/Editor: Voss, Egon
Catalog Number: HN666
Pages: 140