Groth Music home

Orfeo ed Euridice (1762 Vienna Version) - Vocal Score (Italian/German)

Catalog Number: BA5845-90

Price: $40.00

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.


This edition is based on the Vienna version of 1762 of Gluck's Orfeo ed Euridice. This vocal score includes all vocal parts with an accompanying piano reduction of the orchestral music. The piano reduction is based on the Urtext of the Gluck Complete Edition by Heinz Moehn.

Libretto by Raniero de' Calzabigi translated into German by Hans Swarowsky. Italian and German text.

The premiere of the Azione teatrale “Orfeo ed Euridice” took place in Vienna in 1762 and plays a significant role in the history of the music theatre. With this work, the composer for the first time rejected the rigid conventions of the Italian opera seria and made an important first contribution towards the renewal of opera genre.

In collaboration with his librettist Calzabigi, Gluck reduced the plot to its essentials and freed it from the typical political and romantic intrigues which prevailed at that time. The choir takes on a larger role and the ballet is integrated into the plot. Solo and choral parts, instrumental music as well as pantomime and dance are closely connected. The style of singing has a natural simplicity and coloratura is largely abandoned. This stands in stark contrast to the vocal acrobatics of opera seria.

  • Urtext edition based on the “Gluck Complete Works”
  • Revised and newly set
  • Italian libretto of Ranieri de' Calzabigi with singable German translation by Hans Swarowsky
  • Comprehensive foreword (in German, English and Italian) on the genesis of the work and its reception as well as on the plot
  • Clear, idiomatic piano reduction

NOTE: Replaces BA2294-90

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Gluck, C. W.
Artist: Heinz Moehn
Arranger/Editor: Abert / Finscher
Catalog Number: BA5845-90
Pages: 164

Related Products: