Zadok the priest: Coronation Anthem - Vocal Score

Catalog: BA10258-90

Price: $7.95

Expected to Ship in 1-3 Weeks

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher or manufacturer. Backorders average 1-3 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small companies, and temporarily unavailable items.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


This volume is part of a collection which presents Handel Coronation Anthems in Urtext editions for the first time.

“Zadok the Priest" and “The King shall rejoice” are the best-known of the four coronation anthems that Handel wrote for the crowning of George II in London (1727). HWV 258 accompanied the king’s anointment, HWV 260 his actual coronation.

Thanks to their festive and majestic structure befitting the occasion as well as their spacious scoring for large choir and orchestra, it comes as no surprise that motifs from “Zadok the Priest” have found their way into the official hymn of the UEFA Champions League.

The present editions by the authoritative Handel scholar Stephan Blaut are the first to offer these two anthems based on the Urtext from the “Halle Handel Edition”.

  • Bilingual Forewords in German and English
  • Idiomatic piano reductions
  • Based on the Halle Handel Edition

For Mixed choir (SSAATBB) Oboe (2), Bassoon (2), Trumpet (3), Timpani, Violin (3), Viola and Basses (Violoncello, Double bass, Bassoon and Organ).

Urtext edition. Vocal score edited by Stephan Blaut and arranged by Andreas Kohs. Text in English with commentary in German and English.

Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Handel, G. F.
Arranger/Editor: Blaut, Stephan
Catalog Number: BA10258-90
Pages: 19

Related Products: